Zero to 10K

Back in February 2015, I popped in to see my son and daughter in law. My 5-year old grandson Harry had just come in from school, handed his mother a crumpled piece of paper from his school bag, and said “this is for you mum.” His mother Carly reads out loud “it’s a 10k running race in May at Silverstone Race Circuit.” She looked perplexed!

Harry then turns to me and asks “grandma you can do this too.” I reply “Harry I don’t run” – his reply “Grandma you could learn to run, I’ll teach you” – what could I say? I find myself saying “Carly if you do it, I’ll do it.” Did I really just say that? I must be mad, particularly when I’d just celebrated my 61st birthday the month before!

Carly quickly finds an app on her smartphone, “couch-to-10k.” The race is approximately in 12-weeks time. The apps training is a 15-week programme, which means we would be 3-weeks short of training. We look at each other and say “can we do this?” YES of course we can, it can’t be that difficult to run a 10k! Famous last words!

That night I downloaded the app and scrolled through the programme to see what was involved. One of my concerns was getting injured, so my plan was to run 3-times a week, deep water running in a pool twice a week and yoga from home, which hopefully would keep me injured free.

The following day I put on an old pair of tennis shoes and my journey begins.

Week 1: Brisk 5-minute warmup walk, then alternate 60-seconds of jogging, and 90-seconds of walking for a total of 30-minutes. Seems doable, so far so good!

Week 2: Brisk 5-minute warmup walk, then alternate 90 seconds of jogging, and two minutes of walking for a total of 31-minutes. Walking feels good, jogging feels challenging.

Week 3: Brisk 5-minute warmup walk, then do two reputations of the following: jog for 90-seconds. Walk for 90-seconds. Jog for 3-minutes. Walk for 3-minutes. Total time 28-minutes. OK so there’s more to this running malarky than I thought! I can’t believe that jogging for 3-minutes is so hard. Carly is struggling with shin splints and decides to stop all together.

Week 4: Brisk 5-minute warmup walk, then jog for 3-minutes. Walk 90-seconds. Jog 5-minutes. Walk 2.5minutes. Jog 3-minutes. Walk 90-seconds. Jog 5-minutes. Total time: 31-minutes. Starting to feel maybe this wasn’t such a good idea after all!

Week 5: Brisk 5-minute warmup walk, then jog 3/4 mile. Walk 1/2mile. Jog 3/4 mile. Total time: 30-minutes. Puffing and blowing like an old billy goat!

Week 6: Brisk 5-minute warmup walk, then Jog 1-mile. Walk 1/4mile. Jog 1-mile. Total time 33-minutes. It’s really beginning to feel like a challenge. I decide I need proper running shoes and visit the store sweatshop.

Week 7: Brisk 5-minute warmup walk, then jog 2.5-miles. Total time 35-minutes. This is definitely hard work. A little voice appears in my head – persevere, you can do it! The new running shoes are working a treat on my legs!

Week 8: Brisk 5-minute warmup walk, then jog 2.75-miles. Total time 38-minutes. Every day is getting a little harder, and I’m finding I’m having to psyche and chant, “I know I can do it, I can do it,” and if I say it enough times I’ll start to believe it!

Week 9: Brisk 5-minute warmup walk, then jog for 10-minutes. Walk for 1-minute. Repeat 4-times. Total time: 54-minutes. A 1-minute walk passes by too quickly!

Week 10: Brisk 5-minute warmup walk, then jog for 15-minutes. Walk for 1-minute. Repeat 3 times. Total time 58-minutes. Phew, that’s all I can say!

Week 11: Brisk 5-minute warmup walk, then jog for 17-minutes. Walk for 1 minute. Repeat 3 times. Total time 1-hour and 4-minutes. I make the decision to run non-stop. I need to know if I can run a 10k. The race is in 2-weeks time. No pressure! And yes I ran it non-stop!

Week 12: Brisk 5-minute warmup walk, then jog for 18-minutes. Walk for 1-minute. Repeat 3-times. Total time: 1-hour and 10-minutes. I made the decision on day 3 of this week (week-12) to run further than the app suggested. Although it was mentally and physically challenging, I managed it, that’s all I can say! This gave me the confidence to sign the form and commit to the race. No going back now!

Week 13: May 6th, 2015 – Race Day. Silverstone Race Circuit at 7pm

The big day arrives. Thankfully a tennis acquaintance’s wife, Sarah was also running, and she and her husband Chris, kindly gave me a lift to the venue, which I was extremely relieved about. One less thing to think about!

I arrived at the event, and there were runners everywhere, much more than I had anticipated. Everyone seemed to know exactly what they were doing, except me! Sarah showed me where I needed to pick up my number, and I have to say it seemed a little confusing to which table to go to. I eventually get my number, pinned it to my jacket, and waited anxiously for the time to pass.

Before I knew it, I’m on the race track watching the runner’s limber up. I’m sure I should have done some stretching, or something, but I was mesmerised by it all, it all just seemed a little surreal. 12/13 weeks ago I was walking and running for 60-seconds. Now I’m about to run a 10k race.

The gun fires and the runners are off. All I can see in front of me is a sea of colours getting further, and further away from me. Wow, they seem so fast! Suddenly I seemed very slow and inexperienced. Right at the back there’s me, and maybe 5/7-other runners who were happily chatting. Even if I had wanted to chat, at that point I didn’t have the energy to spare. Instead, I’m having a two-way-conversation with myself – “I can’t do this, what I’m I doing” – to, “I can, c’mom you can do this, get a grip woman?” We had just passed the 1km marker and already I was feeling exhausted! How on earth was I going to run a 10k feeling like this.

As if by magic, my fairy godmother landed! Just ahead of me there was a lady running at a nice steady pace. I followed her lead and stayed on her heels. It was the best thing I did. I became more focused, less anxious and dare I say it, I was settling nicely into a rhythmic run.

I was starting to feel a little more confident, and was able to take in what was around me. Up until then I had tunnel vision! The Race Circuit felt big, really big, quite intimidating and open to the elements. When I looked up to the grey sky I could feel rain drops.

As I turn the corner, the wind seemed to have come from nowhere, the rain started to lash down, and I’m blown from one side to the other. Within minutes I was soaked to the skin, and the funny part of it, I actually looked down to see if I still had my running gear on. I thought for one moment that somehow my pants had melted in the rain. Remember what happened to the witch in the Wizard of Oz when Dorothy threw a bucket of water over her?

At one point it was pretty hard going, it felt like I was running on the spot, getting nowhere, the wind was just so strong. Puddles were appearing everywhere, and difficult to avoid. Every step I took all I could hear was slosh, slosh, the water just seemed to ooze out of my nice new shoes. Good old English weather!

Somehow, and I’m not sure how, but lap 2 was within my sight. How time flys-by when you’re having fun! As I approached the starting line (finishing line for some) there was a lot of commotion, and suddenly an orange van with a clock flashing 31-mins 10-seconds whizzes by me. I can hear people shouting, and I’m a little confused. I look behind me and see 3-guys running like crazy, it suddenly dawned on me that they were completing the race, wow!

I plodded on, still following my lady runner. Not far in front was a water station, I slowed down and grabbed a paper cup of water. The wind was behind me now, pushing me along, which felt nice, but when I tried to drink my well-earned cup of water, it ended up all over my face, not that it mattered as I was already looking like a drowned rat. But, it would have been nice to have quenched my thirst. Question – How do you drink on the run?

The next 3kms pass-by and I would say I’m about 2km away from the finishing line. My lady runner had now increased her pace, which I’m not sure I liked, but I went with it. Amazingly, I overtake other runners, thinking I hope I don’t regret this. I see the sign 1km to go, and feel quite relieved. The lady runner in front pushed herself even more. I did’t have it in me to stay on her heels, my heart was already beating like crazy.

As I watched the distance grow between us, I felt immensely grateful for her steady pace, and unknowingly to her, she kept me in the race. I crossed the finishing line in 74-minutes and 22-seconds.

I completed my first ever 10k race. An achievement that goes to my grandson Harry – because if it wasn’t for him I’d never have taken the challenge!

Proud and Relieved

“The person who starts the race is not the same person who finishes the race.”

Leave a Reply

