My Introduction to The Redway Runners “Zero to Hero” Programme

Now that I know I want to continue with my running, I also know that I don’t want to run on my own for 100% of the time.

Remember Sarah and Chris who took me to Silverstone? Well, Sarah had mentioned she was a member of the Redway Runners. OK I thought! So I checked out their website, made contact, and before you could say Heath Robinson, I had a reply from Martin welcoming me to the RR group. That was easy!

As I scrolled down reading the weekly RR newsletter, something caught my eye “Zero to Hero.” Could this challenge be my new purpose? I contacted Doug to find out a little more of what was involved.

An email fly’s back mentioning there was a get together on Sunday June 7th at the Special Ops in Simpson, Milton Keynes. He suggested wearing old clothes, so I had no idea what to expect. The weather for once was glorious, which always helps when one is feeling a little unsure.

It turned out to be a great afternoon of meeting all kinds of people, all ages and all abilities. We attacked the assault course, climbed walls, built bridges, and let our hair down – it was like being a kid again!

The aim of the afternoon was not only to meet people and have fun, but also to learn about the Zero to Hero programme and what’s involved. The commitment isn’t to be taken lightly, there are some steep challenges ahead, which I’m sure will gauge one’s fitness – a 5K in July, a 10K in September, a half-marathon in December and a full marathon in May, 2016.

I am sure there is going to be some blood, sweat and tears as I journey into my marathon training. I’m no spring chicken, but I like to think that if I can work towards this, then anyone in their 60’s, 70’s even in their 80’s can do it too. All one needs is a dream and a pair of running shoes.

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do
than by the ones you did do.
So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor.
Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover.”
Mark Twain

Leave a Reply

