It’s Not About The Destination!

It wasn’t that long ago when I was in sunny Florida, running in temperatures of 95-degrees, and feeling physically exhausted! After each run I could hear myself muttering “I can’t do this!” yet in the next breath saying “I wonder if I could run a 5k?” In the last week of my holidays I thought maybe I could try to run the 5k Park-Run in Clermont, Orlando, who were celebrating their 100th run.

The run started at 7.30am in the morning, and even at that time the humidity was unbearable. If it wasn’t for the organisers and other runners encouraging me I’m not sure I would have attempted it. My run started off well, sun was behind me and I felt OK, but about half-way we turned to run back, and were now facing a rising sun in all its glory. Head down I ploughed on, but within such a short distance I could feel myself getting slower and slower, sweat was pouring out of very pore of my body, and at that point my body so wanted to stop.  But, my head was saying “you can do it, its not far” and what seemed like an eternity I crossed the finishing line. What an introduction to my first ever park-run! Photo below.

20166733974_5c07fc1f2a_o

Since being back in not so sunny England I’ve done several runs with the Monday step-up group and the club run on Wednesday mornings. I was surprised to find that I actually felt fitter and had more stamina – maybe those taxing runs in the heat and humidity were good for me after all!!

Last Saturday I thought I’d be brave and enter the MK Tour 10k race. Up until the race I’d only managed to get a distance of 5.5 miles – was I taking a risk? As it happens I really enjoyed the run, weather was perfect and the scenery really pretty. As the other runners found their pace, somehow Julie Hudson and I fell into a nice rhythm and ran together. There was a nice energy between us, and where needed we both encouraged each other. We crossed the finishing line together, not worrying about the time we did it in, but enjoying the experience. Thank you Julie!

“Focus on the journey, not the destination. Joy is found not in finishing an activity, but in doing it.”

Greg Anderson

Leave a Reply

