Just 5-weeks to go guys and gals!

Oh my is it really only 5 Sunday’s to go before the half-marathon? To say I’m not ready would be an understatement! I still have the dreaded pulled glute – it’s better than it was, but it’s still a pain in the backside, literally! But, thankfully it’s healing and I feel I can push it a little further – I’m now up to 6-miles. I’m planning on running 7-miles on Saturday as I can’t do the Sunday run. If all is well, hopefully I can increase my distance by a mile per week. So come the week of the 13th December I should be running 11-miles. In theory yes, and in practice we’ll wait and see what happens with my glute!

Since I started the Z2H programme in June I have felt physically and mentally challenged. Within weeks of starting the programme I developed achilles tendonitis, which took 8-weeks to heal, then it was a shin splint, now a pulled glute, which is 7-weeks old – I’ve never had so many injuries! Mentally it would be very easy to give in and say “running is not for me.” Just recently I was out with Natalie and Sgt.Mack and after about 1/4 of a mile had to stop, then on another occasion with the RR’s found myself walking back after 2-miles.

But, I have to keep reminding myself that I’m a new runner and not used to these physical demands on my body. I also realise  that I’m not as strong as I used to be, which is probably why my body keeps breaking down. So I’ve put my injury time to good use – I’ve signed up with a local gym and booked in with a personal trainer, who is helping me to develop good core strength, strong legs and upper-body.

The last 6-months has been quite a learning curve for me. I’m learning that my body needs to be strong and flexible, and that my mind needs to be focused on my beliefs, which give me confidence and determination. Being part of the Z2H challenge has already changed my life. Despite my injuries I’m fitter, healthier, more determined and focused. Life is good!

In just 5-weeks time guys and gals I will be facing a challenge that I never thought was possible. Bring it on, glute ‘n’ all!

“I’m not telling you it is going to be easy, I’m telling you its going to be worth it”

Leave a Reply

