A New Year, A New Beginning!

Today is the first day of the New Year, how exciting is that!

I’ve just spent some time today looking at the Marathon Training Plan figuring out how I’m I going to manage my time with work, family commitments and training. It did seem a little daunting at first, that was until I stopped and realised I’m not in this on my own, there’s 17 Zero to Hero’s, and a great support structure from the Redway Runners. Thank God!

It’s hard to believe that in the last 9-months I’ve gone from running for 1-minute to running 150-minutes, not bad, considering I didn’t like to run!

When I crossed that finishing line of the MK Winter Half-Marathon, I said to myself “If I can run 13.1miles I can do anything.” Those words no longer echo in my head, instead I now BELIEVE I can do anything. That shift in my thinking has empowered me in believing I can achieve my dreams through commitment, motivation and hard-work. But, equally as important is also finding the support who provide the right skills and knowledge.

When one takes up a new activity, and there are challenges ahead, a little bit of anxiety can be created with thinking “what if I can’t do this, what if I make a fool of myself, what if, what if.” Those “what ifs” can stop us from achieving our goals. But, I now realise with the right support and encouragement those little doubts of “what if” turn into “Yes I Can!

In the next 16-weeks I’m looking forward to a stronger, fitter and more determined ‘me.’ This is a new beginning!

“Whenever you find yourself doubting how far you can go, just remember how far you have come. Remember everything you have faced, all the battles you have won, and all the fears you have overcome.” ~ UnknownA New Year

2 thoughts on “A New Year, A New Beginning!

Leave a Reply

