Solo Running!

It’s not often that I run on my own, but last Friday I did! My new running buddy was enjoying herself in Amsterdam.

The weather was a little miserable, raining and windy, but it wasn’t the weather putting me off. I just got in my head that I really didn’t want to run on my own, it was too lonely, it was too hard, and I had all the excuses under the sun not to do it. But, I had no choice, it was something I was going to have to do, so get on with it Steph!

Reluctantly I put on my shoes and dragged myself out the door. I set my watch, and within a few seconds was off. Once I got onto the Redway path, I made a deal with myself. It was either enjoy what you’re doing, or go home. You guessed it right! Once I made the decision to enjoy the run, I felt lighter, and if I found myself thinking “this is hard,” I came back with “yes it is, and did anybody say it was going to be easy, and will it ever be easy?” But, who cares!

There were moments when I took a welcome break from my thoughts, and took in my beautiful surroundings. I noticed the River Ouse was at bursting point in some places and flowing rapidly. There were a family of swans, who had found an eddy and were quietly resting, it looked effortless. I could see they were in the moment and not at all concerned how quickly the water was flowing past them.

That go me thinking about the effort I was putting into my running. My mental energy affected my physical energy, which affected the flow of my running. When I work with clients who have a fear of the water, I often say “it’s you and the water, you’re not on your own, and when the two meld there is an energy created.”

I think its the same for my running, I’m not running on my own, every time I take a step, I’m connecting to the earth’s energy flow, which I can either be part of, or be disconnected from. I’m learning through my running that I would like to be part of Mother Nature’s energy and learn to go with the flow.

I know if I work on connecting to the energy that is around me, I would find mental and physical freedom, which would, not only enhance my running, but also me as a person. After my Friday’s running experience I ran with the club on Sunday. I’m not going to say it was effortless, but I was less in my head, and more in the moment. At the end of the run I had clocked 13.2-miles – 3-minutes faster than when I ran the MK Winter half-marathon.

I’m learning to listen to the whispers and what’s around me, than what my head is telling me…

“Everything is energy and that’s all there is to it. Match the frequency of the reality you want and you cannot help but get that reality. It can be no other way. This is not philosophy. This is physics.” – Albert Einstein

Leave a Reply

