Mindset

My run last Sunday was simply lovely. We set off from Stony Stratford, which took  us  along the River Ouse, which meandered gently through a wild meadow. Although the sun was shining, it was cold, and when running you don’t realise how cold it actually is. By the time I got home my lips were blue.

It’s been a while since I enjoyed a run, mainly because of my mindset. Over the last few weeks I’ve been forcing myself to run, rather than wanting to run. The driving part of that was, if I didn’t run I would fall behind on the Z2H programme. This would put me under even more pressure, which I really didn’t need. But, I think there’s more to it than that.

Each week is more demanding than the next, the coming 4-weeks will be very testing as I need to reach the 20-mile goal by the week of the 29th March.

Although the training is physically hard, it is a journey that my body is adjusting too. What gets me is the mental side of the training. I often have these two-way conversations in my head, “can, can’t, what are you thinking!” At this stage in my training It would be so easy to say “it’s too hard, I can’t do this.” But, just because “it’s hard,” does that mean “I give up” and if “I give up” what message have I just sent to myself, my children and my grandchildren?

I am so close to my goal that there is no way I’m going to give in because its too hard, and besides how will I ever know what I’m capable of unless I put myself on the line. As from yesterday I’m accepting that the training is going to get harder, and there will be times when I will want to quit. But, with support from family, Redway Runners and friends “I can achieve my goal” – all it takes is to change my mindset and BELIEVE that training for a Marathon is attainable.

This coming Sunday I shall be running in the 10k Milton Keynes Festival of Running and I’m going to enjoy the fruits of my labor.

“One day I won’t be able to do this. Today is not that day.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

