Letting Go of Expectations!

When I first started  the Z2H programme back in 2015, my expectation was that I would run my first marathon 11-months later. That was my goal and that’s what I was working towards. Nothing was going to stop me! However, The Universe had other ideas.

I’m learning that shit happens along the way, right! Just because I had a goal, that assumption doesn’t mean that I would reach my goal at my first attempt. That was Lesson 1.

When I recently learned that I was not fit enough to run the MK Marathon I switched to taking part in the MK half-marathon, thinking I could walk/jog it – really! If I’m not fit enough to do the training, how was I ever going to cover 13.1 miles. In denial comes to mind! When reality eventually kicked in, my expectations came crashing home –  If I’d had a cat I would have kicked it, just kidding (love cats)! If only I had “listened” to my body in the first place, I wouldn’t be in this mess now.

Lesson 2. I do feel I’ve let my body down, my head ruled and it knew best. Now I’m trying to make up for it though, the last month I’ve been nurturing my body back to health, I’ve taken up yoga and I swim every day, which is helping in the healing process. I believe my body is starting to forgive me, thankfully!

Lesson 3.  I’m learning that its not about the destination, its about the journey and what I learn from it.

Lesson 4. Letting go of expectations is hard. But as my friend Alison quoted “readjusting goals is a goal in itself.” I like that!

Lesson 5. Be thankful for the journey, learn from it, move on, have faith  and “listen” to the whisperings.

“Accept what is. Let go of what was. Have faith in what will be.”

 

 

One thought on “Letting Go of Expectations!

Leave a Reply

