If at first you don’t succeed, try again and again!

On Wednesday at my yoga class for the first time, ever, I was able to practice a forearm-stand. The photo below is how is should look like.

forearmstand-edit-329_0

My first and second attempt were disastrous,  I didn’t believe I could do it, and managed to collapse in a heap – not a pretty sight! The teacher saw what happened and asked “if I would like to retry.” My response was “I don’t think I’m ready,” somehow she managed to coax me into it.  To my amazement I did it, and it felt soooo good! If it wasn’t for the teacher encouraging me, I know I would’nt have attempted a third try that day.

It was at that moment that it dawned on me that I must be getting stronger. But, having said that there are many times when getting into certain yoga moves, feel a real struggle and that my flexibility is as flexible as a wooden table, and my balance as good as a baby taking its first steps.

But, slowly and surely I can feel my body is adjusting. Back in March I couldn’t go from a downward dog, to a plank, lowering into chaturanga – it was near impossible. Now I’m able (well sort of) to flow into the move below.

yogapedia_269_01_FNL

 

I never thought Yoga would play such a major role in my life. Not only, is it improving my strength, flexibility, balance and my mental health, but my running feels more fluid and relaxed. I’m totally hooked!

Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall. ~ Confucius

 

Leave a Reply

