So Long, Farewell, its time to say goodbye!

17-weeks ago the Women’s Running Magazine were looking for 3-women to run their first trail run. Clare, Abbey and I were chosen as their participants to train and run The Bath Hilly-Half.  

Those 17- weeks have flown by, it only seems like yesterday that I was meeting the team from the magazine and sharing my story  in why I entered their event. So it’s hard to believe that yesterday (Sunday 13th) we actually ran The Bath Hilly-Half.

img_0067

L-R Carly Dutton ran the Ultra 10k, Philip Withers, Steph Dutton, Abbey Payne and Clare Steel ran the Half-Marathon.

The course was not what I expected, it was so much hillier than I had anticipated. The hills were relentless, long,  steep and muddy in places. In one particular place it was near impossible to stand up, you kinda of slid your way out of it, and prayed that you didn’t fall on your butt.

Although challenging, the first lap I enjoyed enormously.  The sun was shining and and it felt good to be running in such spectacular countryside.  The marshalls and spectators were all so encouraging, and so were the runners who passed me by.

Towards the end of the second lap I wasn’t feeling quite so chipper. Not even the Jester could coax me running up a particular hill.

img_0076

After I left the Jester I could feel I was running out of steam. The  last 2-miles were up a steep, stony track, which was hard going, followed by a field of sheep and a long winding muddy track to the race-course.  I was starting to get disheartened as I didn’t have it in me to even jog, my energy was shot.

By the time I got to the race-track, family and Liz (the editor) were all shouting words of encouragement. It was just what I needed to pick myself up to cross the finishing line with my grandchildren Harry and Isabelle.

img_0078

On reflection it was an extremely challenging course for a novice runner, and I did well to finish it in under 3-hours. Thankfully my body stood up to the demands, and somehow I managed to stay injury free. This morning however it feels like I’ve been run over by a bus, I’m as stiff as a board and can hardly move.

So another chapter over, and another chapter is about to begin with my training for the Z2H Winter Half-Marathon in December. I’m not quite ready to say, so long, farewell, its time to say goodbye to the Women’s Running Magazine team, who have been amazing, particularly Anne-Marie Lategan, our trainer. It’s been an awesome journey – thank you, not only to the team, but also to the RR’s who helped me achieve the near impossible. I couldn’t have done it without you guys…

“Will it be easy? Nope. Worth it? Absolutely”.

Photos from the day:

img_0083img_0084img_0085img_0086img_0087img_0088img_0089img_0091img_0090img_0093

2 thoughts on “So Long, Farewell, its time to say goodbye!

  1. Yeah Steph!! Sounds like quite a run! I’m so impressed with what you have accomplished. Keep running and inspiring. MAYBE one day I’ll get a chance to run with you……

    Like

Leave a Reply

